Was my entire childhood a lie?

Published November 4, 2013 by shreyarvj

When I was kid
I used to wait for Santa Claus
Thinking he’d bring me gifts
And overlook my flaws.

As I grew up, I realized
That Santa ain’t coming for me,
That my folks kept fooling me
Under the Christmas tree.

When I was a kid, I watched
Pokemon everyday,
Bought the toys from the shops
And handled them with care.

Now they tell me,
Pokemon was just a cartoon,
In the real world we have animals
Oh, my dream crashed so soon!

When I was a kid, I was told
To make a wish to the shooting star,
One day it’ll come true
That day might not be too far.

Years later, I came to know
All this was just a joke,
Shooting stars won’t bring me
Cakes, chocolates or coke.

These little things
Always made me smile,
But now I sulk when I think
Was my entire childhood a lie?

Leave a Reply

