You went away.

Published June 8, 2014 by Shreya Rajvanshi

I told you,
“I’m not perfect,
But I’m worth it.”

I said,
“I know that I’m secure,
But I can give you so much more.”

I whispered,
“It may not be clear,
But I love you, my dear.”

But you never waited,
You turned around.
No touch, no parting words,
You went without a sound.

7 comments on “You went away.

      • Initially, everything seemed out of order, but now I’ve come to thank him for it. It’s better to let go instead of being uncertain all the time.

      • I know the feeling, believe me. But I’ve come to understand that for writers, everything real that happens is raw material for us.It’s more than just the pain of rejection. That can trap us in a loop, or it can free us from lesser things. But there’s something universal in anything big like that, and you –we– can turn lead into gold, and that’s healing. And as Mama Cass said in a song once, “unrequited love’s a bore.” πŸ™‚

      • I’ll surely listen to it.
        And you couldn’t be more right. We are like antennas, catching different frequencies of the situations. We weave our own world of gold, which can be denial or escapism or facing what has happened. πŸ™‚
        The self realization part comes to me after a while though.

  • Leave a Reply

