Reading Habits Tag!

Published August 31, 2014 by Shreya Rajvanshi

image

I was scrolling through the ‘Readers” section when I noticed this post popping up pretty frequently, so I decided to give it a shot. This seems REALLY interesting! Here I go-

Question #1: Do you have a certain place at home for reading?

Yes, I do. In fact I believe everyone does. I’ve got two, though; my bed and my sofa. For instance, if I read during the day, I prefer the sofa and at night, the bed.

Question #2: Bookmark or a random piece of paper?

In most cases, neither. But if I do feel that I won’t be able to remember the page number, I put in a random piece of paper which is VERY NEATLY cut, nothing untidy. This is in rare cases, for I hardly require them.

Question #3: Can you stop reading anytime you want or do you have to stop at a certain page, chapter, part, etc.?

The latter. I can’t even imagine stopping at any random line. Reading half-way through a chapter irritates me. So yes, if I have to put the book on hold, it’ll be after I finish reading one entire chapter.

Question #4: Do you eat or drink while reading?

I drink at times. A cup of hot coffee relaxes me in ways I cannot describe and thus helps me enjoy the book even more. The reasons I don’t eat are because, a) it tends to distract me, and b) I am scared of the food staining the pages.

Question #5: Can you read while listening to music/watching TV?

With the television on, never. I do read with the earphones plugged in, provided the music is not too loud or too slow. A soft Lana Del Rey song usually works.

Question #6: One book at a time, or several at once?

My book list never seems to end, in fact, it keeps on growing and growing with each passing day.How I wish I could read several books at once, but that’s not really possible. So, one book at a time is how it goes. I do take my own sweet time to read, hurrying messes it up.

Question #7: Reading at home or everywhere?

I prefer reading at home, but on a long journey, be it a car, plane or train, I always carry a book with me. They make wonderful companions!

Question #8: Reading out loud or silently in your head?

I am comfortable reading a book silently, in my mind. But if I come across a line or a dialogue which strongly fascinates me, I try reading it out loud, in different accents, just to see how it sounds. Weird? Maybe, maybe not.

Question #9: Do you read ahead or skip pages?

There are times when I think that the book is moving at a slow pace and I feel the urge to steal a glance on the upcoming pages, but I resist it. I might have looked a couple of times, but that was purely unintentional. I prefer keeping up the suspense.

Question #10: Breaking the spine or keeping it new?

Most of the books I have got are either what I receive from my grandparents or parents, or they are purchased second hand. If the book has been recently launched in the market and I desperately want to read it, I either order it from the online stores or download an eBook.

Question #11: Do you write in books?

Oh my God, never. I hate scribbling on the pages, all I do is write my name on the second page of the book along with the date when I got the book. Apart from this, nothing at all.

6 comments on “Reading Habits Tag!

    • The thing with me is that if I stop at any random line, the thought of what the next page(s) may carry continues to bug me.
      Oh, same here. Noise is such a distraction. For me, a slow melody playing in my ears is just about fine. As for the last point, we share that view.

  • Leave a Reply

