Panacea.

Published September 5, 2014 by shreyarvj

You were supposed to be my panacea,
My umbrella in a heavy rainstorm,
A shelter during a hurricane,
Petals to save me from the thorns.
Why weren’t you my doctor when I was ill,
Or my lawyer when I was on the stand,
Or an angel to protect me from the stares,
Why weren’t you someone I could call a friend?
I thought you’d be my guiding light,
My strong, saving grace,
One I could always rely on
To push me forward to win this race.
But oh, how wrong I was,
For all those times when I needed your help,
Longed for you to save me,
You were only saving yourself.

2 comments on “Panacea.

  • Leave a Reply

