Purple.

Published October 17, 2015 by Shreya Rajvanshi

We danced across the pages
Through the smooth folds of
The little bright, purple envelopes,
Heavy with papers smelling of
Freshly blossomed lilies,
Grasping the shivering fingers of
Physical distance, marked with
The four day old lipstick stained
Kisses, touching every alphabet
That has been penned down,
And the cold breath that lingers
On the ink laced letters with
Purple petals quietly sleeping
Within the warmth of our hearts.

18 comments on “Purple.

    • Aww, thank you so much, Claudia!
      I’m glad you liked this poem. I’m having a serious case of writer’s block, and I’m trying to work through it. Hopefully, it’ll happen soon. But sure, take me to the poetic haven!

      • Oh goodness, Shreyarvj!
        I understand writer’s block. If I weren’t a receiver for inspiration, my keyboard would silently stare, wondering if I were alive or the sitting insensate. Was on a three-hour conversation with a long-time friend and at the disconnect, my mind swirled with poems spilling over poems. πŸ™‚ Then came the decision to write now or later, sleep or write, eat or write. I live to write. Actually, beauty blogging is another avenue to my writing passion!
        Have a lovely evening! Make the write choice. Snatch a picture, listen to music, watch a YouTube vid, ponder an argument and WRITE!

      • Claudia, it worked!
        I just had to click the right switch, and boom, there’s light now!
        It feels so good, just so good, to be over a writer’s block.
        (I’ll let you in on a little secret – I thought of something to write on a little after your message)
        You’re lovely. Thank you!

      • That is absolutely the BEST NEWS of this new day, Shreyarvj! I’m so happy for you and proud of you as well.
        Perhaps we as writers should shift our thinking about writer’s block and accept it. Then, in acceptance, view it as a necessary part of rejuvenating ourselves, while we dance on through the perceived block! πŸ™‚
        Thank you for the compliment! My soul sings! You are ever welcome!

  • Leave a Reply

